FHSA Annual Awards Nominations are now closed! 

The FHSA Award Nominations have closed for this awards cycle. We hope you will join us at the FHSA 2024 Annual Conference & Expo, where we will recognize our award winners at our annual awards luncheon. October 2, 2024, at the DoubleTree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. Visit this webpage for more details. 

Awards Program Overview   

The Florida Head Start Association (FHSA) recognizes the achievements and highlights the outstanding and vital work of the Head Start and Early Head Start employees, parents, alumni, volunteers, and community partners. 

As the state association for Head Start, one of our primary responsibilities is to recognize individual achievements and honor those making notable and significant contributions to our State. FHSA works collaboratively with the Region IV Head Start Associations (RIVHSA) awards processes and procedures. There are a total of 19 award and scholarship categories available. There are 14 RIVHSA categories, and the National Head Start Association (NHSA) has five national categories recognized at the State and Regional levels.  Grantee recipients must submit nominations as specified by each category outlined in the RIVHSA Awards & Scholarship application booklet. Each Grantee recipient determines nominees from their agency and provides submissions to FHSA by the specified deadline date. All applications must reflect services contributed during the current program/school year as of July 2023 – June 2024.  The FHSA awards committee will select a nominee from each of the categories submitted to represent our State at the Regional and National levels.

Here's the process:

  • The deadline has been extended to June 10, 2024! Nominate your candidate(s) by June 10, 2024, using the RIVHSA application bookletFHSA has made completing the application easier by creating an editable PDF document. All applications must reflect services contributed during the current program/school year as of July 2023 – June 2024.  
  • Grantee recipients must send their nominations to FHSA by the June 10, 2024 deadline either via email ([email protected]) or postal mail to FHSA 111 N. Gadsden Street, Suite 200, Tallahassee, FL 32301 in order for us to meet the RIVHSA deadline date of July 15, 2024. 
  • FHSA Awards Committee will review each application for completeness. 
  • The FHSA Awards Committee will review and score each nomination based on the established scoring rubric. 
  • FHSA selects a winner and sends those to RIVHSA for consideration to be recognized by RIVHSA's designated deadline date of July 15, 2024. 
  • State winners are recognized during the FHSA Annual Awards program.

Awards Criteria

  1. Nominees for all awards must be members in good standing.
  2. Nominees may not be nominated for more than one category per year.
  3. Nominations submitted without the required documentation will not be considered.
  4. All criteria for an award or scholarship must be met.
  5. Incomplete or late applications will not be considered.
  6. Some Regional and National awards/scholarships are tied to a cash award. These awards/scholarships will be given by the respective organizations. As a State recipient, we do not provide any cash-based awards. If selected by the State to advance to the Regional level for one of these awards/scholarships and you are selected as the recipient, you will be required to provide your social security number and other required information for redemption. FHSA will not ask for or collect any personal information during the nomination process.